Class School Records at Shore Championships


Chris Marco ('13)

Big time performances at the Shore Conference Championships this weekend.  Chris Marco wins the 1600meter run and breaks the Sophomore school record by running 4:16.60!  Henry Menke‘s school record in the mile, dating back to 1976, may be in jeopardy this year.

Marco was quoted about the race in the Asbury Park Press.  “This was just to see where I’m at, put myself against some good competition and hopefully perform well.  I just wanted to keep contact with Nelson for the first three laps because I know he always hits 2:10, then 3:15, so I just waited on him and thankfully I had a lot of speed at the end.”

Also in the race, Kyle Kroon places 6th place and breaks the Freshman school record by running 4:27.62!  This is really impressive and the future looks very bright for the South distance team.

Also scoring for South at Shores was the 6th place effort of Tom Sippie in the pole vault (12’6″) and the 6th place performance for the 4X400meter team of Chris Marco, Tom Sippie, Skylar Gray, and Kevin Wynn.

Results:  http://nj.milesplit.com/meets/92879/results/160983

This entry was posted in Track and Field. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Class School Records at Shore Championships

  1. Mike Perlberg ('01) says:

    Saw the results in the paper this morning, great job guys!

    I notice Chris’s seed time was 4:27, was this a huge PR or just a slow seed? Either way, awesome job.

    • runningindians says:

      I may be wrong, but I don’t think Chris had run that many 1600s, so I think the 4:27 may have been his best before the massive PR of 4:16.

  2. Jason Klophaus '96 says:

    Wow, will be paying attention. That is a huge PR, nice work to all of you guys!

Leave a comment